Arundel Castle
Arundel Castle Arundel Castle Arundel Castle Arundel Castle Arundel Castle Arundel Castle Arundel Castle Arundel Castle

The palatial castle at Arundel has grown from its modest origins as a motte and bailey castle built by Roger de Montgomery, Earl of Arundel, around 1068. A shell keep was added to the top of the motte in about 1140, and curtain walls, a chapel and a garden, possibly the first Royal garden in England, were added by King Henry II.

Arundel Castle has belonged to the Earl's of Arundel and the Dukes of Norfolk for many centuries. Passing from the d'Albinis to the Fitzalans in the 13th century and to the Howards in the 16th century, it has been home to many prominent figures in English History.

During the Civil War (1642-51) the castle was badly damaged after being besieged twice, first by Royalist forces who took control and later by Parliamentary forces. Restoration began in the 18th century, and many of the original Norman features were repaired. But the most extensive period of building work occurred at the end of the 19th century when Henry, the 15th Duke of Norfolk, rebuilt most of the castle in a grand gothic style.

The castle is still family home to the Duke of Norfolk, and visitors can tour the main castle building and view the rich interiors of a stately home, as well as explore the earlier medieval parts of the castle, the keep and barbican gate.

Prominently sited in Arundel off A27
Arundel Castle, Arundel, West Sussex, BN18 9AB
Privately Owned. Open to the public. Admission fee
For further information visit

View Larger Map

Return to top of page